top of page
Chapter History

Xi Nu Omega Chapter History

While attending a Founders’ Day Celebration in February 1980, five graduate sorors initiated in Delta Omicron Chapter at Northern Illinois University began discussing the forthcoming 20th anniversary of their undergraduate chapter’s chartering in DeKalb, Illinois. Work began to bring all Delta Omicron initiated sorors together again.  As plans were being formulated to celebrate Delta Omicron’s milestone event, it became apparent that Delta Omicron was no longer a functioning chapter and was in jeopardy of losing its charter.

The Delta Omicron Reactivation Committee was formed, and many Delta Omicron alumnae were reclaimed as financial members. Under the leadership of Soror Peggy Lewis LeCompte, 19th Central Regional Director, fifteen members of the Ivy Leaf Pledge Club became women of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., Delta Omicron Chapter on March 28,1981. With the reactivation of Delta Omicron completed, the desire to charter a new graduate chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. was born. On July 9, 1982, Xi Nu Omega was chartered by Soror Peggy Lewis LeCompte, Central Regional Director.

Xii Nu Omega’s Charter Members are Patricia Berry, Carol J. Briggs, Joan Dameron Crisler, Carolyn Dean, **Loyce Mason Epps, Valerie Michele Everett, **Vanora Eyvette Grover, Patricia Ann Hill, Brenda Lynn Mills Hogan, **Diana Hamilton James, Willa Young Jennings, **Doris Powell Kyle, Adrienne Patricia Lofton, Phyllis McIntosh McCune, Carmelita Rivera, Claudia Brooks Russell, Audrey Renae Sanders, Carolyn Daise Schanette, Cathy G. Simms, Kathy L. Spencer, Gail Street-Coe, Velencia L. McCord Watkins, Kevena Turner Williams, and Belinda Brown Williamson.


**Ivy Beyond the Wall

Xi Nu Omega Chapter Former Presidents

**Ivy Beyond the Wall

bottom of page